Stephen Stills – Prostate Cancer – Motivational Speaker Chuck Gallagher Says You Can Win This Battle!

Within the scope of seven days, two well known music icons have been either diagnosed or died from prostate cancer. Stephen Stills has been diagnosed with prostate cancer and Dan Fogelberg died from this disease.

stills-acoustic.jpg

As reported on MSNBC from a Reuters news story:

Singer/songwriter Stephen Stills, best known for his work with folk-rock trio Crosby, Stills and Nash, has been diagnosed with prostate cancer, according to bandmate Graham Nash.

Nash told TV talk show host Larry King in a telephone interview late on Monday that Stills is set to undergo an operation on January 3, which happens to be his 63rd birthday.

The news came a day after Dan Fogelberg died at the age of 56, three years after the ’70s folk singer was diagnosed with advanced prostate cancer. Upon learning that he had the disease, Fogelberg urged men over age 50 to get tested.

Nash said an early diagnosis of the disease had potentially saved Stills’ life.

“Unlike Danny (Fogelberg), who left it too long to be seriously checked, Stephen found his at an early stage,” he told CNN’s “Larry King Live” show.

No one was immediately available from Stills’ management team to comment.

The third member of the band, David Crosby, has also been ill, forcing the postponement of a U.S. tour earlier this year. Details of Crosby’s illness were not disclosed, but he was back on stage by mid-year.

Crosby, Stills and Nash comprised one of rock’s biggest acts and embodied Woodstock-era folk-rock sensibilities of peace, love and music. They were known for hits including “Teach Your Children,” “Woodstock,” and “Marrakesh Express.”

Stills rose to fame in the mid-1960s alongside Neil Young in Buffalo Springfield, before teaming up with Crosby and Nash (and sometimes Young). The eclectic guitarist maintained a parallel solo career, which yielded such notable tunes as “Love the One You’re With” and “We Are Not Helpless.”

chuckgallagher020.jpg

As a survivor of prostate cancer I agree fully that early detection is critical. However, while Fogelberg had said that men over 50 should be checked – I will respectfully disagree. Men over 40 should be checked!

I was diagnosed with prostate cancer by accident at age 47. I had no symptoms – none what so ever. The PSA test was something that my doctor did when I had routine blood work done – something that I avoided as I have a fear of needles.

I received a call saying that all the blood work was fine – except that my PSA was a little high – 4.58. Now, frankly that meant nothing to me, but I followed orders and visited a urologist. After a routine DRE (digital rectal exam) I was told that there was probably nothing to worry about, but that a biopsy would be in order just to make sure.

The results from the biopsy proved that I had early stages of prostate cancer.

After considering several treatments: Traditional Surgery, Radiation, Proton Radiation, HIFU (High Intensity Focused Ultrasound) – I elected to have robotic surgery using the DaVinci system.

Outcome: The cancer was contained in the prostate (a benefit of early detection); the prostate was removed; in four weeks I had transferred from NC to Texas for a new job; there have been no side effects – urinary function is controllable and normal as is erectile function.

While for some this might be too personal…I find that living is personal and something that can be cured with early detection is worth personal comments.

For those with prostate cancer (know that I am not a doctor), I am willing to talk in person, via e-mail or use this blog to help others. Feel free to share your comments as the more young men (and I consider 40’s to be young) know about the benefits of early detection the more lives will be saved.

My best to Stephen Stills!

One Response to Stephen Stills – Prostate Cancer – Motivational Speaker Chuck Gallagher Says You Can Win This Battle!

  1. Tim says:

    Chuck,
    I thank you for your information and site. I have just been diagnosed with Prostate Cancer. My PSA was only 2.6 . Gleason was: 3+3=6 . Clinical Stage 1 (Tic) or (T1c). Not sure of DR’s writing. He told me that of the 11 biopsies, 3 were positive cancer. One of them was 40%, and the other two were at about 10%. I’m trying to decide my options. I have a friend that had his taken out by the Divinchi robotics. He is urging me to do the same. I’ve also read on the net about HIFU ? And that it’s in clinical testing in the U.S., but is approved in other countries. Maybe you can give me some insight. The doctor told me he think’s it (cancer) is about as big as a pea. I don’t like the idea of being cut up if I don’t have to be. I’m only 56.

    Thanks again,

    Tim

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 21,958 other followers

