My Awfully Wedded Life – An Interview with author Jimmy Hyten

  • You’ve written a book entitled “My Awfully Wedded Life” tell my readers a bit about your book.  Sure has an intriguing title!

hytenfrontcoverofficialThanks! Oddly enough, my current wife came up with that title. My book is the story of my previous marriage. My goal was to tell a relationship story from the male perspective. There are all kinds of stories out there from women about their marriages and failed relationships but rarely do you hear about those same stories from a man. That was my intent.

The book can be purchased here:  http://sakura-publishing.com/?product=my-awfully-wedded-life

  • What was your motivation in writing this book?

I had just left from another frequent argument with my ex-wife and I caught myself wondering how many other people deal with this frustration all too often. Using writing as a creative outlet, a story about what had just happened turned from one page to fifteen. I wanted to share my story to see if men and women could relate.

  • You mention that most men are “very stupid and immature in every sense of these words.”  Care to share a few examples from your book?

I, of course, say that with the best of intentions. What I mean by that is when in a relationship, so many men are naïve. I openly admit that I can be very immature, especially when I am upset. One example is grocery shopping – I turn into a small child when grocery shopping because I don’t want to be there, I whine, I complain, and if I am asked to help pick out food, I play games. Instead of getting chicken, I will pick up pig feet just to be a pain. Another example is when I would argue with my ex-wife, I would deliberately press her buttons driving her to such frustration she felt the only logical response was to throw a steak at me. I don’t think I am the only man to do things like this. That is what I mean, very stupid.

  • You start your book with some harsh words toward women.  Who do you think is your book’s audience – stupid men or emotional women?

Ha, that is a little bit of a loaded question; both genders can be stupid and emotional. It wasn’t so much harsh words toward women as much as it is preparing the reader for what is to come. My point was to tell women reading it that men are men. Don’t try and change us, it will just end in failure and annoyance.

  • What do you hope the reader will gain from your book?

hytenprofile2I really hope the reader will not only understand where I am coming from but also be able to relate to my situation. I think so many couples go through what I went through and their relationships end the way mine did and a lot of times no one talks about it. I didn’t filter anything.

  • How, by the way, did you go about selecting the stories and ideas included in your book?

I wrote the stories as they occurred. If something stood out as being abnormal or just plain crazy and I caught myself wondering what the hell I was doing being married, that was normally the indicator that it would make a good story.

  • A number of my readers are in the media, so as we conclude this interview – what two things would you want them to know about the uniqueness of your book?  What is unique about your book that would cause the media to consider a story about “My Awfully Wedded Life”?

I would have to say that it isn’t your typical, run of the mill self-help book. I am not trying to teach people how to have successful relationships. It was a creative outlet for me during situations in my marriage that had me thinking, “what the hell was I thinking.” I want people to read it and laugh because it’s funny but also because they can relate. I wanted to write exactly what happens in almost every marriage or relationship but no one ever talks about. I guess if I had to pick two things they would be that this book offers a glimpse into my life as a married/divorced man but from a perspective that isn’t normally seen, a guy’s perspective. The second thing would be that this book isn’t for one particular audience; it’s for every single person, whether they are single, married, divorced, young, old, it doesn’t matter.

Jimmy’s website is here: www.myawfullyweddedlife.com

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 20,422 other followers

