Obama – A Fairy Tale? Maybe It’s Time We Recapture Camelot!

I was just a kid when John F. Kennedy was assisnated.  I don’t remember the event or where I was – what I do know is that his vision inspiried a generation to do the impossible.  Never did I hear the naysayers say it can’t be done, rather, people rallied around a common cause and America grew – even in the face of war and conflict.

Texas Motivational Speaker, Chuck Gallagher

Now, I am a business ethics speaker – my topic – Motivational Ethics inspires those who hear to make choices that can yield positive results.  http://www.chuckgallagher.com   Now, I have made choices that did not yield positive outcomes so I know the difference.  And, let me say at the outset – I am not a politician nor have I made my mind up who to vote for.  However, with that said, I couldn’t resist today making some comments about the sparing I hear from the Clinton camp toward the democratic front runner (thus far) – Obama.

So lets look at some of the comments today:

From (CNN) – On the eve of the New Hampshire primary, former President Bill Clinton criticized the media for not pressing Barack Obama more fully on Iraq, and accused the Illinois senator of shifting his position to reflect changing attitudes on the war.

“It is wrong that Senator Obama got to go through 15 debates trumpeting his superior judgment and how he had been against the war in every year, enumerating the years, and never got asked one time, not once, ‘Well, how could you say that when you said in 2004 you didn’t know how you would have voted on the resolution? You said in 2004 there was no difference between you and George Bush on the war,” Clinton said at a campaign stop in Hanover, New Hampshire.

He added, “Give me a break. This whole thing is the biggest fairy tale I’ve ever seen.”

The biggest fairy tale I’ve ever seen?  Wow!

Don’t know about you, but most fairy tales (at least the ones I remember and had read to me as a child) are uplifting.  Good triumphs over evil and there is a positive moral to the story.  In fact, while fairy tales are riddled with truths, and not everything is pretty, when the story ends the power of good always triumphs.

So – the biggest Fairy Tale I’ve Ever Seen – might be a slip of the tongue or a precurser to a positive change for the future.

Senator Obama is not perfect, but here are some comments he made to his supporters in Iowa that sure seem positive to me:

“In lines that stretched around schools and churches; in small towns and big cities; you came together as Democrats, Republicans and Independents to stand up and say that we are one nation; we are one people; and our time for change has come.

You said the time has come to move beyond the bitterness and pettiness and anger that’s consumed Washington; to end the political strategy that’s been all about division and instead make it about addition – to build a coalition for change that stretches through Red States and Blue States. Because that’s how we’ll win in November, and that’s how we’ll finally meet the challenges that we face as a nation.

We are choosing hope over fear. We’re choosing unity over division, and sending a powerful message that change is coming to America.

You said the time has come to tell the lobbyists who think their money and their influence speak louder than our voices that they don’t own this government, we do; and we are here to take it back.

The time has come for a President who will be honest about the choices and the challenges we face; who will listen to you and learn from you even when we disagree; who won’t just tell you what you want to hear, but what you need to know.”

As a motivational speaker my job is to help others see things in a different light – to see things in the light of hope – to see the possibilities that solve the problems – to see that we are more than what we seem – we are possibility.  To some that is a fairy tale – to me that is harnessing the power of human potential.

Your thoughts?

Leave a Reply

