Dan LaMarch – Wisconsin Payroll Tax Fraud – The Consequences Have Just Begun!

Just the other day, I posted a blog about the fraud associated with Daniel D. LaMarch. Since then this has become one of the most read posts. I began to wonder why…then the e-mails began. People wanted to be heard as they had lost their job and, my words, “been screwed” as employees of LaMarch.

Here are two of the comments I received just today via e-mail:

Comment One:

The only comment I have to make is I am a former employee (as of 02/14/08). On Thursday, all of us employees were told our jobs were over and done with and to clean up our stuff and leave.
We were also told we were not getting paid from 02/01/08 thru 02/14/08. Dan told us to try to apply for unemployment since he had no money to pay us.
I’m sure it’s also going to be coming out that from April 2006 to the present, he would not pay us any overtime. He allowed us to work over 40 hours per week but would only pay us straight time. I don’t know about the other employees, but I know for myself I usually averaged approximately 110 – 115 hours every two weeks. I would get paid straight time, but I would not get paid time and a half for over 80 hours.
All I can say is I surely never saw this coming. I thought Dan was a very honest person and I still have a very hard time believing this is happening.
Comments Two: I also worked extra hours without getting paid the overtime wage. When I would ask for the overtime pay he said straight time would be better than unemployment, wouldn’t it?? And speaking of unemployment, once I calmed down a bit after being let go on Thursday 2/14/08, I called to file for unemployment and was told that my wages had not been reported since the 2nd quarter of 2007. So, it will be another 2 weeks of “processing” paperwork before I would be considered for unemployment. And seeing as we haven’t’ been paid since 1/31/08 it will be a good month before I will receive any compensation.
I would really like to know if all he did was really worth it?? Did he really think it wasn’t going to affect the lives of many, many people?????
Every choice has a consequence. As a business ethics and white collar crime speaker, (www.chuckgallagher.com) I see the effects of choices everyday. What often goes unnoticed is the effect that choices have on others. These two comments – from very real people – got a rude awakening on valentines day 2008. There was no love here. The consequences that are being felt are felt by people who are hurting from LaMarch’s choices and actions. Likely, they will produce in the victims – anger, hostility, sadness, panic, worry and who knows what else.
As we make choices daily, it is critical to consider the consequences that our choices will cause. Consequences don’t always mean “bad” – as I’ve experienced from positive choices extraordinarily positive results.
As for Daniel D. LaMarch, if convicted, he may well spend the rest of his life in prison. The thoughts of dying in prison have to be daunting and LaMarch is facing just that.

A federal grand jury handed down a 20 count indictment against LaMarch for failing to pay over to the Internal Revenue Service payroll taxes that had been withheld from the wages of the employees of Title Services of Green Bay during the period from January 2002 through December 2005. The indictment alleges that during this four-year period, LaMarch withheld from the wages of the employees of Title Services of Green Bay more than $500,000 in payroll taxes, but that he failed to pay those funds to the IRS, as required by federal law, or to file the quarterly payroll tax returns (Forms 941) that he was required to file reporting the wages, and payroll tax withholdings.

For the victims…during this time on emotional trauma, be careful of the choices you make. Choices founded out of anger and vengeance will not produce positive results. Make your choices wisely and focus on rebuilding. Remember positive choices do yield great outcomes.

13 Responses to Dan LaMarch – Wisconsin Payroll Tax Fraud – The Consequences Have Just Begun!

  1. Another employee comment:

    I also had been a very dedicated employee at Title Services only to find out on Thursday that we were closing, when just hours earlier I was told someone else was going to be taking over!!! When I asked Dan about getting our paychecks I was told “Sorry I don’t have any money” How convienient that he told us this on the last pay day for that 2 week period. It is also laughable when this came out on our local station on Thursay Feb.7th 2008 the next morning Dan claimed he knew nothing about any such charges!!! Now I am no expert in Federal Law but it seems to me Dan would have to be notified if Federal Charges were being filed against him. Now they can also investigate the failure to pay us overtime along with all the other charges. I would also suggest they dig deeper, I have a feeling there is more

  2. Josh Walkush says:

    Dan LaMarch is a good man, a honest man and I dont know what is going on here but I am positive there is someone else involved. Dan would never go out of his way to hurt family or friends or employees. I have known him and his family for over 17 years and there is no way he would knowingly do anything bad to any of them.

  3. Josh…thanks for your comments. Many good people do things that have unintended consequences. Not paying payroll taxes for three years is not something that one just forgets to do. Perhaps LaMarch will be able to prove that this was someone else’s fault. However, it is my experience that indictments are rarely wrong (at least in total).

    • josh walkush says:

      Im shure the crime was comitted. Im shure Dan didn’t forget to pay payroll taxes for three years. It’s not likely that it was anyone elses fault. I have read the comments from employees being upset and mad. Im shure they were mad they lost their jobs, I’m also shure when Dan chose not to file his taxes properly he was broke. He had a chioce. Fire everyone today and loose everything or try to make up the loss somewhere else and keep everyone employed. Gamble is the choice he made. Was it the wrong one? He put off loosing everything for three years…

  4. T. Myers says:

    As another former employee of Mr. LaMarch, I can’t help but follow Chuck’s call for balance in our assessment, while at the same time shaking my head in disgust (yet not surprise) at a man who I worked very, very hard for only to witness him violate in private the very public, very phony, very voiciferous “religious,” “moral” and “above-board” principles he cared nothing about. I hope justice is served.

    I received a pink slip from Mr. L on a cold morning in March 2003, and it did teach me an important lesson: in the private sector, always expect the ax. No one is safe. Your position is never secure. I fell to pieces when I was laid off due to the cyclical forces of the real estate industry. While I always wondered the nature of my layoff (can anything Mr. LaMarch says or said be considered worthy of anything but contempt and dismissal now?) the occupational abuse described within your response emails are consistent with the daily goings-on at Title Services of Green Bay. A gossipy, clique-y, poisonous environment was tollerated, inconsistent standards for performance, attendance, and productivity existed from employee to employee and the best thing that ever happened to me personally was being laid off by ol’ Danny Boy. It taught me to never again worry about losing my job–because the only way it would happen would be because of forces beyond my control. My layoff was a liberating thing in the end.

    As for the charges, it is sweet justice to someone who always wore his religion on his shirt sleeve, purported to be a person of the highest ethical principles and business practices, drove the best cars, drank the best wines, had the nicest house–all financed on a sick, illegal, rip-the-government-off house of cards. The fact that Mr. LaMarch faces the prospect of life behind bars is sad, but no sadder than the social security/Medicare trust he’s been pilfering for the past five years. His generosity he admittedly showered his employees with (all with the dangling carrot if license to continue the verbal workplace mockery and abuse) is now nothing more than blood money misappropriated and the right property of the Federal government’s coffers.

    Finally, and on balance, I will be forever grateful for Mr. LaMarch, who did generously pay for my health insurance during a few Cobra months–something he did not have to do. In typical Dan style, though, I was made to feel foolish and humiliated by his jokes and verbal abuse, but in the end it was worth it because he did come through, he did pay for a couple extra months of health care protection.

    Is it any wonder that those from Generation X like myself are so cynical and distrusting of anyone in authority, as here, yet again, someone you looked up to, worked hard for, represented in the most professional and competent way possible, is just another common, cheap, crooked, thief–actually, Mr. L is an exceptional thief. So exceptional he may never again see the light of day outside of a prison yard. Sad, sad, sad.

  5. FORMER EMPLOYEE says:

    I CAN UNDERSTAND THAT THE EMPLOYEES OF TITLE SERVICES ARE UPSET ABOUT NOT GETTING A LAST PAY CHECK I AM TO . BUT THE OVERTIME PAY WELL WE WERE ALL TOLD NO OVERTIME!! BUT SOME OF YOU WANTED TO WORK BECAUSE YOU CRYED YOU NEEDED THE MONEY AND ASKED TO WORK MORE HOURS. THIS WAS YOUR CHOICE. WE WERE NEVER TOLD TO WORK OVERTIME FOR STRAIT PAY YOU ASKED IF YOU COULD . SHAME ON YOU PEOPLE FOR TURNING THIS INTO SOMETHING HE DID WHEN YOU ASKED FOR THE HOURS AND IF I WERE HIM I WOULD HAVE SAID NO!!! WE WERE NOT THAT BUSY AND IF THE EMPLOYEES WOULD HAVE DONE THERE WORK INSTEAD OF GOSSIPING ABOUT OTHER EMPLOYEES AND NOT PLAYING WITH OR TALKING ON THERE CELL PHONES OR MAKING PERSONEL CALLS WHEN HE WAS NOT AROUND YOU WOULD HAVE GOTTEN YOUR WORK DONE HAD YOU DONE WHAT YOU WERE GETTING PAID FOR NO ONE WOULD HAVE HAD A PROBLEM GETTING THE WORK DONE BEFORE 5:00PM. SO WHO RIPPED WHO OFF . HAD I BEEN HIM I WOULD HAVE FIRED AT LEAST 70% OF YOU . IT IS SAD THAT IT TOOK SOMETHING LIKE THIS FOR HIM TO SEE WHAT SOME OF YOU ARE REALLY MADE OF . AFTER ALL THAT HE HAS DONE FOR SOME OF YOU. I HAVE TO SAY I AM RELEIVED NOW THAT I KNOW WHAT SOME OF YOU ARE REALLY LIKE I NEVER HAVE TO WORK WITH YOU PEOPLE AGAIN!!!

  6. Mark Balaban says:

    Let me tell you what happend to me. I am a Realtor and small Developer, I sold a lot and at the time of closing the city did not know how much the special assements were going to be.
    So everybody agreed that I escrow money to cover the assessments, Title services of Green Bay, had us both sign the escrow agreement. And you know the rest of the story.
    Were is my money? and do I even stand a chance getting it back?
    If there is anyone that can help I sure appreciate that! Or if you have any names of people that are in the same boat.
    And maybe Stewart Title, would help!

  7. Just a Thought says:

    let me just start out with one quote

    “The public is cautioned that an indictment is merely the formal method of returning charges against
    the defendant. A defendant is presumed innocent until such time, if ever, as the government presents
    evidence to establish his guilt beyond a reasonable doubt”

    I notice that every time I hear/read about something like this there are so many people to jump on the wagon, and how much of these details are 100% accurate? I just find this all interesting, bad feelings can often cause people to skew reality. We have all seen this at some time or another, why is the poster above me “FORMER EMPLOYEE” seem to be more truthful about the real details?

    I’m not an expert in this at all or have I ever worked for this company, but just what if someone else was in charge of the financial end of the business? Could they have laid there trust into the wrong hands? Its possible and as a president of a company he probably should have been more careful.

    These are just my thoughts and not that it matters, but there is so much hearsay here and the writings of angry “ex employees” so come lets judge by the facts and not what people tell us is the truth.

  8. Mark Balaban says:

    He was to be sentanced on 1/14/09, does anyone know what happend?

  9. Cheryl Kramer says:

    He was sentenced to six yrs prison and three years probation with restitution of $3.3 million

  10. Cheryl Kramer says:

    Correction – per Milwaukee newspaper it is $3.7 million but got away with the $2.3 million his title insurance company had to pay out

  11. Real Music From a true artist…

    Dan LaMarch – Wisconsin Payroll Tax Fraud – The Consequences Have Just Begun! « Motivational Speaker – Chuck Gallagher Business Ethics and Choices Expert…

Leave a Reply

