Governor Eliot Spitzer Linked to Prostitution Ring – Every Choice Has A Consequence!

When the dust settles – regardless of what the facts reveal – one thing will be abundantly clear – Every choice has a consequence! As a business ethics speaker, I know first hand the effect of choices and consequences. I disgraced my family, lost my career, and substantially altered my life by choices that I knew better than to make.

eliot-spitzer.jpg

Spitzer, now Governor of New York, and former New York Attorney General has been a crusader attempting to root out corruption by taking the moral high ground. However, as the path of ego grows large, often you might see the weakness of the flesh exposed. You always reap what you sow. In this case, the reaping and consequences have just begun as the layers of Spitzer’s actions become clear.

Details of Spitzer’s actions can be found here.

“I have acted in a way that violates my obligations to my family … [and] my sense of right and wrong,” Spitzer said in a brief statement he read to reporters at his Manhattan office. “I must now dedicate some time to regain the trust of my family.”

The irony of today’s news is that Spitzer pledged to bring “ethics” reform. One could argue that if Spitzer admits guilt then he certainly would lose any credibility. Of course, many have already called for his resignation.

Speaking from personal experience, don’t be quick to judge! Often when quick to judge the universe has a way of exposing the judges weakness. Perhaps we need to focus on the effect of the choices that apparently Spitzer made.

His choices will have a profound effect on:

(1) his wife and children. I lost my marriage due to choices that broke the trust of the marriage bond. I have found that trust broken is hard to regain. Often it is easier to deal with the pain and move on than to try to rebuild something that has been destroyed by trust.

(2) the people he serves. More than likely if the allegations can be proved, Mr. Spitzer will have little choice but to resign the office of Governor of the State of New York. The media attention and loss of credibility will be too much to bear in order to be an effective leader.

(3) him. Spitzer will likely face one of the most challenging times of his life. His ego is more than bruised by his alleged choices. However, perhaps he will find that a bruised ego moved aside will allow for the true discovery of who or what it means to be “somebody.”

My time spent in federal prison (not something I am proud of) was the most significant experience of my life as it pertains to learning significant life lessons. Perhaps Spitzer, while facing major issues will learn more about himself and how, once he recovers, he can provide a significant contribution without taking a “holier than thou attitude.” Perhaps the crusader will have more compassion for those he attacked in the past.

Meanwhile, let’s hope that the media will afford Spitzer’s family the opportunity to heal.

Leave a Reply

