Prostate Cancer Solutions – A New Blog is Formed

Some of my collegues have said that I’m crazy – as I’m expending energy to focus on an area that is not a part of my daily livelyhood.  I am a business ethics and sales motivational speaker and trainer.  I am also a prostate cancer survivor!

Because of my speaking and writing, I have elected to be an open book.  That choice has carried into my work with prostate cancer as well.  Because of that and the strong number of people who have contacted me asking questions and seeking help – I have chosen to write a book about not only my experience with prostate cancer but the experiences of literally hundreds of men.

When I was diagnosed I became frustrated at the volume of information, but the lack of credible data from a survivors perspective.  As a result serveral things are happening that may benefit the 280,000 men who this year will be diagnosed with prostate cancer.

One…the book is well underway.  I am still conducting interviews from men who have had treatment for prostate cancer in various forms.  GUYS…I know that it may sound strange, but I need your help.  Your comments (taken confidentially) could save someone else’s life.  So, PLEASE, contact me so I can get your story.  The time you spend with me in this short interview may be all it takes to help another or save a life.

Advance copies of the book can be obtained by contacting me at chuck@chuckgallagher.com

The other major issue is a new blog has been formed devoted strickly to the issues of PROSTATE CANCER.  The blog can be found here and is called:  http://prostatecancersolutions.wordpress.com.

Feel free to visit this blog and take the time to comment.  Every comment has value and together we can create a safe place for men to focus their efforts to beat this dreaded disease.  Your comments and help are greatly appreciated.

7 Responses to Prostate Cancer Solutions – A New Blog is Formed

  1. Rabbi Ed says:

    Hi, Chuck,

    I enjoyed your comments and am glad you are working to complete your book on prostate cancer. In fact I’d like to request a copy, and would hope we can compare notes about each other’s new books on the subject.

    It’s great you’ve starated a new blog too to share your experiences and those of others. Any source of enlightenment – whether it be your book and blog or mine, will help cut into the great confusion newly diagnosed prostate cancer patients and survivors alike go through. This is true even after patients hear their doctors’ advice. In fact many survivors like you and me, can look back and say we were more confused after our doctors told us about treatment options, and were insufficiently informed about post-treatment self-care issues especially related to sexuality.

    As it happens I added a post related to diagnosis of prostate cancer in my own blog last night at http://www.ConquerProstateCancer.com., where I’ve added many free reports since starting my blog two months ago, including your excellent piece! Some of your readers may find that blog as well as my new book Conquer Prostate Cancer: How Medicine, Faith, Love and Sex Can Renew Your Life, worth looking at..
    That’s the case because you and I see eye-to-eye on many aspects of prostate cancer.

    “Use it or lose it” is unquestionably correct, in terms of increasng sexual activity following prostate cancer surgery and other treatments. Whether you “do it” as a couple or solo, it’s important to maintain good blood flow to the penis as essential to post-treatment penile rehabilitation.

    As a rabbi I too had to overcome inhibitiions about masterbation, as I mention in my book. If we reframe the issue as a matter of “self-stimulation for rehabilitation purposes,” more folks will see the point (pun intended)!

    Your friend,
    Rabbi Ed Weinsberg (Sarasota, FL)

  2. Andrew Cairns says:

    I was diagnosed with prostate cancer in Nov. 2006, just after losing my job. I was lucky enough to have a friend who had also been diagnosed a few months earlier and had seed implant treatment at the Seattle Prostate Institute. I elected the same procedure and could not be happier.

    I had no difiiculty with sexual activity after the procedure and only needed flowmax for about 30 days.

    I highly recommend seed implants.

  3. Bill H says:

    Why does it seem that bloggers and authors alike put pictures of seniors on the covers of their books? More and more men in their 30s are subjected to this cancer and I would argue that in that age bracket, in some cases, it is more difficult to deal with the issues surrounding the treatment options.

  4. Bill…great point. I was 47 when diagnosed. Reality is, it’s hard to find the right picture for a book. Most of the research supports that prostate cancer is found in men 45 and older with the trend turning much younger. I think, (not scientifically supported) that the reason we are finding it in younger men is that we’re looking and know how and what to look for.

    Don’t let the picture through you off of the content. We’re about saving lives of all men.

  5. Tom from Wyomissing PA says:

    I was diagnosed with prostate cancer in August 2002, after a routine annual check up showed a PSA of 7.2. In December of that year, at age 55, I had a total prostatectomy performed by laparascopy at Jefferson Hosp., in Philadelphia. At the time, it was the only facility nearby with a surgeon trained and experienced to perform the procedure. My cancer was 33% of the prostate, but completely encapsulated, so no chemo was needed.

    I was very happy with the results. Sexual function was largely unaffected (although my penis has developed a slight “draw” when erect). Incontinence has not been a problem after an initial period of about 2 months. I had little post-surgical pain, and quick recovery. I was back to work part time about 1 week after surgery. Annual check ups have continuously shown psa to be undetectable.

  6. Bill H says:

    Chuck…Agree on the picture comment, however, it would grab my attention more if the space the current photo occupies was broken into four sections showing men in their 30’s, 40’s, 50’s, and 60’s. More of an impact in my opinion.

    I particularly like your last comment about saving live of all men. Through support groups I have talked to men in their 30’s who have recently been diagnosed, have surgery scheduled, or are post op. All are searching for the same thing – a forum to discuss their specific issues. Any thoughts?

    I am willing an able to help in any way I can including holding group meetings. Thanks Chuck.

  7. Hoilijak says:

    emm… cognitively ))

Leave a Reply

