IRS E-Mail Notices – DON’T BE SCAMMED!

So, I’m driving down the road today and my Blackberry goes off.  I know I’m not supposed to, but I couldn’t resist.  I picked it up to check the email and there it was – a notice from the IRS that I was due a refund.  Yea!

Not so fast…  The IRS doesn’t do business via email.  Let me repeat…the IRS doesn’t do business via email.

Hum…must be a scam.

Here’s what I received:

Internal Revenue Service
United States
tax-refund@irs.gov

Dear Applicant:

Please note now you can get your tax refund, after the last annual calculation of your fiscal activity we have determined that you are eligible to receive a tax refund of $314.79.
Please take few minutes to fill your form attached to this message.

The contents of this email and any attachments are confidential and as applicable, copyright in these is reserved to Internal Revenue Service.

Sincerely,
Internal Revenue Service
tax-refund@irs.gov

Of course attached was a form that I was to fill in – in order to claim my money.  Now, if I was dumb enough to fall for that, I would also find that my identity would have been compromised and I would have lost far more than my promised gain.

NOTE:  IRS NOTICES VIA EMAIL ARE SCAMS.  Do not fall for junk like this.

Chuck Gallagher is a business ethics and fraud prevention speaker and author.


Leave a Reply

